Greatest History Teacher Salute

Greatest History Teacher Salute

Do you remember your favorite history teacher?
We’ve all had one: the teacher who made history in our own lives. In addition to acknowledging and celebrating your favorite teacher, this tribute program will:

  • Support critical educational initiatives for our young people, like Virginia History Day, at the Virginia Museum of History & Culture

  • Underwrite professional development services and supplemental resources for teachers

  • Foster beneficial partnerships with school systems across the state

  • Prepare present and future generations for responsible civic engagement

  • Advance our important mission to connect people with America’s past through the Story of Virginia

Salute your favorite teacher today.

Please join us, along with the individuals who paid tribute to the educators listed below, in thanking them for their dedication and service to educating children across the state and nation:

Wayne E. Boese
John R. Brinser
Woody Cherry
Clarence Cowles
Agnes Dunn
Sara Geddy
Dorothy Hood
Sybil Hottle
Myra Claiborne Irby
Ludwell H. Johnson
Leontine Turpeau Current Kelly
Ronald W. Kruse
James Jason Lemmond

Robert D. Meade
Jean M. Mihalyka
James Osuna
Evan Peay
Mattie S. Richardson
Dr. James I. Robertson, Jr.
Ethel Rowell
Hendrika Schuster
L. Mack Swift
Louise Wetzel
James P. Whittenburg
David H. Wollman
Nancy Zimmerman


With your gift of $50 to the Greatest History Teacher Salute:

  • Your favorite teacher will receive a one-year membership, along with a note crediting your gift and your submission of that teacher's name

  • You and your favorite teacher will receive special recognition in our publications and on our website

Join the Greatest History Teacher Salute today.

Learn more about educator resources at the Virginia Museum of History & Culture.

Contact Us

Do you have questions about membership or making a charitable contribution to the VMHC? We offer a number of ways you can support our educational mission. For more information, please contact Cathy Boe, Senior Gifts Officer and Senior Officer for Member Travel, at 804.342.9657 or