Associations, Memberships, & Groups

Associations, Memberships, & Groups

AAM LogoAssociations and Institutional Memberships

The Virginia Museum of History & Culture is proud to be accredited by the American Alliance of Museums (AAM).

The American Alliance of Museums is the national organization representing the museum community and addressing its needs, thereby enhancing the ability of museums to serve the public interest.
Web site:

We are also proud to be associated with the following organizations:

American Association for State and Local History (AASLH)

  • The American Association for State and Local History provides leadership, service, and support for its members, who preserve and interpret state and local history in order to make the past more meaningful in American society.

  • Web site:

Independent Research Library Association (IRLA)

  • The Independent Research Libraries Association was established in 1972 in order to address the future of independent, privately supported research libraries.

  • Web site:

Virginia Association of Museums (VAM)

  • VAM brings together the individuals and institutions of the Virginia museum community to further education and training, foster development, and provide support for museums and their staff.

  • Web site:


Educators Advisory Board
The purpose of the Educators Advisory Board is to assist the Virginia Museum of History & Culture in developing and evaluating K-16 teacher and student programs. The members of the board make recommendations, promote the society’s programs to their colleagues, and serve as advocates for the museum and its mission. The board consists of elementary and secondary school teachers, social studies supervisors, school administrators, and university professors. Learn more about past & present members here: Teacher Advisory Council 

Editorial Advisory Board
The Editorial Advisory Board helps to maintain the high scholarly standards of the museum’s quarterly journal, the Virginia Magazine of History & Biography. Its members, each of whom serve a three-year term, make recommendations concerning the disposition of submitted articles and select the winners of the magazine’s two annual awards—the C. Coleman McGehee Award for the best article by a graduate student and the William M. E. Rachal Award for the best overall article that appeared the previous year in the Virginia Magazine. The board consists of the following university professors and independent scholars:

Eric Burin, University of North Dakota • Peter S. Carmichael, Gettysburg College • Elizabeth A. Georgian, University of South Carolina Aiken • Kevin R. C. Gutzman, Western Connecticut State University • Charlene Boyer Lewis, Kalamazoo College • Jeffrey L. Littlejohn, Sam Houston State University • Julie Richter, College of William and Mary • Gregory D. Smithers, Virginia Commonwealth University • Nicole Myers Turner, Yale University