Writing the Declaration of Independence, 1776

Time Period
1764 to 1824
American Revolution
Art & Architecture
Politics & Government

The Writing of the Declaration of Independence (VMHC 1996.49.15)

Writing the Declaration of Independence, 1776, by Jean Leon Gerome Ferris. Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, and Benjamin Franklin were named to a committee to prepare a declaration of independence. Jefferson (standing) did the actual writing because he was known as a good writer. Congress deleted Jefferson's most extravagant rhetoric and accusations.

View the original document online at the National Archives.